What Library Staff are Reading Uncovered – April 2015

Posted on April 28, 2015. Filed under: 1 | Tags: , , |

Reading and writingLinda

  • I have just read The elegance of the hedgehog by Muriel Barbery.  When I finished it I wanted to immediately reread it. I found it so beautifully written and the English translation from the French so well done, and the way the story was portrayed so poignant, I laughed and cried as I read it.

Vicki

  • A Graphic Novel: Last Kiss – Casual Fridays by John Lustig – I cannot recommend this graphic novel highly enough – funny and clever captions on pop art graphics.  Well worth delving into. 4 stars
  • A book of Short Stories: Breaking Beauty – edited by Lynette Washington – a clever marketing ploy in that an excerpt of one of the short stories was published in the Jan-Feb 2015 Australian Book Review.  I had to borrow the book to find out how the story ended.  It was worth it.  Each story in this collection explores the idea of beauty, warts and all.  The stories challenge your perception and ideal of normal.  My favourite story in this compilation was by the sci-fi writer, Sean Williams “The Beholders”.  All have twists and all are clever.  Worth reserving the library copy today. 5 stars (and I never give 5 stars).
  • A book with a love triangle: One Night in Italy by Lucy Diamond – Okay stretching this one a bit – love triangle in the form of one character, Catherine – her husband was seeing a much younger woman on the side and she kicked him out.  This is my preferred genre – chicklit, great characters that all bond and have a happy ending.  Tick in all departments.  The characters meet in an Italian night class.  Easy, fun read. 4 stars
  • A book with Bad Reviews: Swimming Home by Deborah Levy – So much promise, but I didn’t love it.  Beautifully written, interesting characters but doesn’t really lead anywhere except in a circle. 2 stars. The bad reviews can be found here – one person wrote it was going to be the worst book they would read all year!
  • A Book based entirely on its cover: The Teleportation Accident by Ned Beauman – I didn’t love it and I thought I would – set in Berlin, Paris and Los Angeles in the 1930s.  Possibly because the main character was so unlikeable.  Had a nice little twist at the end so I am glad I persevered. 2 stars

Adam

  • A book written by someone under 30 – Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s “Learned” by Lena Dunham – I enjoy her TV series and I wanted to see what you get for a 3 million dollar book advance these days. Apparently a lot of complaining. There were a few funny stories, some you could tell she had worked into the show or used as a base for some characters. These were interesting. The rest seemed to be complaining about how it is to be a relatively privileged New York girl. The potty humour saved it from a 1 star rating. 2/5.
  • A book started but never finished – A fraction of the whole by Steve Toltz – It wasn’t bad, just too long and there was much more I wanted to read. 2/5.
  • A book with a number in the title – 50 popular beliefs that people think are true
  • A book from an author I love that I haven’t read yet – Vulcan’s Hammer by Philip K Dick – An early book with many of his great themes running through it, written right before his most award winning book, This wasn’t outstanding but highly enjoyable for a fan. The main themes included are one world government, AI, conspiracies, religion and overthrowing the powers that be.
  • A book you can finish in a day – You Have to F**king Eat by Adam Mansbach
  • A book that was originally written in a different language – The three-body problem by Liu Cixin – This was originally published in China and is the first part of a trilogy that was apparently quite popular over there. A very original sci fi story that I enjoyed a lot and can’t wait for the rest to be published in English. Themes involved are game theory, maths, astronomy, aliens, VR, politics, nano technology and more. 5/5.
  • A trilogy – Resistance by John Birmingham – This is part 2, part 3 is out soon. 3/5.
  • A nonfiction book – World’s Best Jazz Club: The Story Of Bennets Lane by David James.
  • A mystery or thriller – Consumed by David Cronenberg – I love Cronenberg’s films except for a few recent ones and this book has all the themes of the good ones. If you loved Videodrome, eXistenz, Dead Ringers and Crash then this book is for you. 4/5.
  • A book at the bottom of your to-read list – Mustaine: A life in metal by Dave Mustaine – Creator of the band Megadeth of which I was a small fan many years ago. Re listened to the music while reading the book which I enjoyed. Not the best music biography, too much focus on the rehab and band politics and not enough on the making of the music for my tastes. 3/5.

Jenny M

  • Nicholas Sparks – At first sight – I didn’t enjoy  this one as much as some of his others I have read in years gone past.  Maybe my tastes are changing???? (couldn’t fit it into one of the reading challenge categories) 3 stars.
  • A book with non- human characters  + A book based on a true story James Bowen – Bob : no ordinary cat.  This is the JNF version of “A street cat named Bob”.  I loved it!  Bob the street cat adopts James Bowen and  joins him in his busking on London streets and gives James a reason to get off drugs and look after himself better.  Bob has his own website and is very famous on You Tube as well from tourists and Londoners who have come across him and James on the London streets.  A lovely, inspiring real-life book. 5 stars
  • A book started but not finishedGraeme Simison – The Rosie effect.  Really disappointing.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading  “The Rosie project” last year and waited with great anticipation as my reserve got closer and closer to the top of the list.  When it was finally my turn, I got set to sit and read all weekend, but only got through a couple of chapters before I decided to give up.  Just not as entertaining as the author’s first Rosie book.  1 star

Anna

  • The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt- a fabulously implausible page-turner. I have happily stayed up far past my bedtime all week for this one. I read a review of the book dismissing it as full of clichés, and indeed it is, however it doesn’t seem to bother me. Everything that happens, and everyone in it, seems so unlikely, including the scenarios that propel the storyline, but I am still hooked.

Theresa

  • Still reading The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton…just copy and paste this email for the next few months!!

Alison

  • Wife on the Run, by Fiona Higgins. A marriage in trouble in our social-media-ridden world… There are lots of ways people can be dishonest, when they can hide their true identities behind a facsimile. Apart from being a well-paced story, this is a comment on how life is currently being lived. I like her dialogue, and unsentimental representations of human character.
  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I avoided reading this one for ages because I thought it would be pop literature, manipulative, slight. But having read her big novel, The Signature of all Things, I changed my mind. Listening to Gilbert’s journey-story on Talking Book is a great pleasure. I love to see how thoughtful, honest people make their way from one identity to another, and what they encounter on the way. It’s the eternal human story, how we change and what we learn.
  • The Remains of the Day, by Kazuo Ishiguro. I know this one has been around a long time, but I have just got to it. Stevens, the butler at Darlington Hall, is a complex creature who has been bought and sold by the British myth of inherited class difference. He belongs, he feels, in the butler class; his true mind, his authentic self, is buried beneath the weight of expectations of his ‘class’. It is ‘not his place’ to be a fully-realised human being. When he loves, he doesn’t know or admit that he loves. What a powerful book this is.

Catherine

  • The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken (Junior Fiction) – 4 / 5 stars – This was an excellent adventure story about a little girl who is orphaned, her cousin and the horrid guardian who comes to look after them. The landscape is ruggid, the wolves very scary and the female heroines fantastic. It was a really enjoyable read – I want to read the rest of the series now. Joan Aiken is an awesome writer!
  • Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones (Junior Fiction) – 4.5 / 5 stars – Having seen the animation by Hayao Miyazaki (Studio Ghibli) years ago, I only recently learned that it was based upon the book by Diana Wynne Jones. Sophie is a young woman who works in her step-mother’s hat shop when the Witch of the Waste puts a spell upon her. To everyone else she appears an old woman. Additionally, Sophie can’t tell anyone that she has a spell on her. Thinking that her step-mother won’t recognise her as an old woman, she sets off to seek her fortune and finds herself at the Wizard Howl’s Moving Castle. I loved this book, I definitely recommend it!
  • Ottoline and the Yellow Cats and Ottoline goes to School by Chris Riddell (Junior Fiction) – 4 / 5 stars each – Ottoline is a little girl who lives with her pet, Mr Munroe, while her parents travel the world collecting interesting things. Ottoline is a very likable character and Mr Munro is this cool dog-like ‘thing’ that is very sweet and helpful. He and Ottoline are the best of friends. Ottoline is very adept at solving mysteries. These stories are fantastic and are brilliant for kids who are just up to chapter books – there is a great mix of text and Chris Riddell’s amazing illustrations.
  • Where Song Began: Australian birds and how they changed the world (Adult Non-Fiction) – 3.5 / 5 stars – I have only just started this one, but I’m finding it very interesting. I have learned that: Australian Birds are quite aggressive, play an important role in the pollination of certain trees and are very noisy in a harsh sort-of way (think Wattle-Bird calls). I’m looking forward to learning more.

Heidi

  • A book that became a movieThe Strange Case of Dr Jeckyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson.  This was an adjunct to a library ebook I had out called simply Hyde by Daniel Levine. Levine tells the story from the monster, Hyde’s, point of view.  I actually enjoyed it more than the original I think – am I allowed to say that?  3 stars for RLS’s story, 4 stars for Levine’s book
  • A book that made you cryA Monster Calls by Patrick Ness but built upon an idea by Siobhan Dowd. This was a book group read but I’d read it before on a recommendation from a friend.  This really got the group going and there were all sorts of shenanigans as members tried to change the date of the meeting so they could come after all. Catherine listened to it on talking book and blubbed to and from work in Penrith for several days. 4 stars
  • Gun Street Girl by Adrian McKinty – McKinty lives in Australia now but his character Sean Duffy is a catholic detective in the almost exclusively Protestant Royal Ulster Constabulary during The Troubles in Northern Ireland.  Gripping stuff that I think will be enjoyed by those who like Tartan Noir writers like Ian Rankin and Stuart McBride. 4 stars
  • The Ghost of the Marie Celeste by Valerie Martin – Historical fiction with ships, sailors, spiritualists and Arthur Conan Doyle. 3 stars
  • Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith – the most thrilling thriller I’ve read in a while. Set in 1950s Russia where the Stalinist regime does not allow that crime could take place because everyone was too content to commit crime. So when it dawns on NKVD officer Leo Demidov that a serial killer is at work just investigating brings the threat of being denounced as a traitor. Although the time period is the 1950s this is based on a real-life serial killer of the 1970s and 80. 4 ½ stars
  • Mathew’s Tale by Quintin Jardine – I picked this up because it was an historical novel set in 17th Century Scotland in a very small town in Lanarkshire called Crossford. One of my friends at school came from Crossford and I stayed a weekend there once. The story of justice for the little man was OK but I’ve read better.  3 stars

 

And what about you, dear colleague?

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 71 other followers

  • Facebook

  • Meta

  • Archives by date

  • Links from our Del.icio.us account

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

