Databases versus Google

Posted on August 2, 2012. Filed under: Libraries and Librarians, Reference | Tags: , |

Here is a cute little video where Teddy bears argue over whether Google or databases are better for research

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

Good Reading Online is here!!!!!

Posted on June 17, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

We are now subscribing to Good Reading Online. GRO is an Australian resource with information on ‘Everything About Books’ including thousands of easy to read independent book reviews and lots of Australian and International articles, author profiles, stories on writers’ houses, bookshops, short stories, book trivia and more. It also aims to provide not only a central place for book lovers to find useful information, but also a place for readers (and writers) to exchange thoughts and ideas.

The online edition is an exact digital copy of the print magazine (which we still subscribe to) with the benefits of access to the archive of past issues plus links to interesting websites and more. You’ll also be able to browse and keyword search through all issues.

Good Reading will provide us with promotional material and tutorials and we will promote this new resource to the public. In the mean time, please familiarise yourselves with this new exciting resource. It is accessible from all PCs in the libraries (no password required) and from your home PC using your library card barcode to enter. You will find it in the Online Databases section of the library website.

www.bmcc.nsw.gov.au/yourcommunity/library/onlinedatabases

Patou

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

Music databases trial extended

Posted on May 26, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

FREE DATABASE TRIALS FOR NSW.NET MEMBERS: ALEXANDER STREET PRESS AND NAXOS MUSIC PRODUCTS

These trials which were due to finish soon have been extended and will now be available until Friday the 19th of June 2009.

Great background music as you work away!

See this blog entry for login details.

Patou

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( None so far )

Attention Music Lovers!

Posted on May 8, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |


NSW public libraries have free trial access to music databases from Alexander Street Press (until 7th June) and Naxos (until 31st May).

To access the databases go to the Blue Mountains library NSW.net page. Click on the button for “Free Trial Offers”. User name is: library, password: 3376Bwa.

Let me know what you think!

Patou

Read Full Post | Make a Comment ( 2 so far )

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 71 other followers

  • Facebook

  • Meta

  • Archives by date

  • Links from our Del.icio.us account

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...